Sunday, July 18, 2010

Ordo Salutis: Traditionally understood

The Ordo Salutis, is the latin designation for thinking about Salvation as an ordered sequence of events (Romans 8:28-29). I'd like to use a modified version of it to understand more accurately and express more coherently the doctrine of salvation.  The phrase 'Doctrines of Grace' expresses a similar conceptual framework.

This is the traditional Calvinist Ordo Salutis (Demarest, The Cross and Salvation, 38-40):
  1. Predestination
  2. Election
  3. Calling
  4. Regeneration
  5. Faith
  6. Repentance
  7. Justification
  8. Sanctification
  9. Perseverance
  10. Glorification